Alfred Austin - The Poetry Of (Audiobook)
- +

Read by Richard Mitchley & Ghizela Rowe (Unabridged: 1hr 5mins)

Poetry is a fascinating use of language.  With almost a million words at its command it is not surprising that these Isles have produced some of the most beautiful, moving and descriptive verse through the centuries.  This series looks at individual poets who have shaped and influenced their craft and cement their place in our heritage.  

In this volume we look at the works of the Victorian Poet Laureate, Alfred Austin.  Born in Headingly, Yorkshire in 1835 Austin went on to graduate from the University of London in 1853.  Training to be a barrister was a success but his love was literature and he turned to this full time as a novelist, playwright and poet.  After several false starts he published as a poet in 1861, it arrived with a measure of success.  In 1870 he wrote a book ‘Poetry Of The Period; which managed to criticise the great Victorian poets of Tennyson, Arnold, Swinburne and Browning without an undue measure of negativity. With the death of Tennyson in 1892 a number of candidates were looked at for the post of Poet Laureate.   Finally in 1896 after it was rejected by William Morris the post was Austin’s.  His work was entwined with his love of Nature and he is a fine example of this Imperial age. His poems have a softness, texture and comfort that is deeply rewarding. Alfred Austin died in 1913.

Alfred Austin Biography

 In this compilation - 

01 - Alfred Austin - An Introduction
2 - A Reply To A Pessimist
3 - Though All The World
4 - Love's Unity
5 - Love's Harvest
6 - Spiritual Love
7 - A Rare Guest
8 - A Voice From The West
9 - In Praise Of England
10 - How Florence Rings Her Bells
11 - A March Minstrel 
12 - An April Fool 
13 - Forgiveness
14 - An April Love 
15 - Agetha 
16 - In Sutton Woods
17 - A Night In June 
18 - Resignation
19 - Give Me October's Meditative Haze 
20 - A November Note 
21 - Sorrow's Importunity
22 - December Matins 
23 - The Passing Of The Century
24 - Winter Violets
25 - My Winter Rose
26 - A Wild Rose
27 - A Captive Throstle
28 - Free
29 - A Farewell To Youth
30 - A Sleepless Night
31 - By The Fates
32 - Gleaners Of Fame
33 - Songs From Lucifer
34 - The Silent Muse
35 - Song