Anthony Hope - A Short Story Collection (Audiobook)
- +

Read by Ghizela Rowe, David Shaw-Parker & Mark Rice-Oxley (Unabridged: 2hrs 5mins)   

Sir Anthony Hope Hawkins was born on 9th February 1863 in Clapton, London.

He was educated at St John's School, Leatherhead, Marlborough College and Balliol College, Oxford.  Hope trained as a lawyer and barrister and was called to the Bar by the Middle Temple in 1887. Despite what was thought to be a promising legal career he had literary ambitions and wrote in his spare time.

His early works appeared in various periodicals of the day but for his first book ‘A Man of Mark’ (1890), with no publisher interested, he published with his own resources.

More novels and short stories followed, including the mildly successful ‘Mr Witt's Widow’ in 1892. Hope even found time to run as the Liberal candidate for Wycombe in the election that same year but was unsuccessful.

His first major literary success came with ‘The Dolly Dialogues’, a collection of previously published magazine pieces followed very quickly by his instant classic, ‘The Prisoner of Zenda’. He now gave up the vestiges of his legal career to pursue writing full-time.

Despite never again reaching the same pinnacle of success he was popular and wrote prolifically across novels, plays and of course, short stories though his writing output rapidly diminished after the war.

In 1918 he was knighted for his contribution to propaganda efforts during World War I.

His short stories are delicate, mannered and often surprising with their wit, humour and interplay of characters who say one thing and usually mean another.  He was very definitely a writer of escapist rather than serious fare but they are no less enjoyable for that.

Anthony Hope died of throat cancer on 8th July 1933 at his country home, Heath Farm at Walton-on-the-Hill in Surrey. He was 70.

In this compilation -

1 - Anthony Hope - A Short Story Collection - An Introduction
2 - Foreordained by Anthony Hope
3 - A Little Joke by Anthony Hope
4 - A Guardian of Morality by Anthony Hope
5 - Lucifera by Anthony Hope
6 - A Sucessful Rehearsal by Anthony Hope
7 - Middleton's Model by Anthony Hope
8 - How They Stopped the 'Run' by Anthony Hope
9 - My Astral Body by Anthony Hope