E F Benson - A Short Story Collection (Audiobook)
- +

Read by David Shaw-Parker, Elliot Fitzpatrick & Mark Rice-Oxley (Unabridged: 3hrs 3mins)

Edward Frederic Benson was born in Berkshire, England on 24th July 1867.

Educated at Marlborough and Kings College Cambridge he began his career as a writer at an early age and was published whilst still studying.

Benson was also a gifted athlete and represented his country at figure skating.

His career was prodigious and widely acknowledged.  Perhaps he is best known for his collection of novels about ‘Mapp & Lucia’ which have proved very popular throughout the decades. 

Benson was also well regarded as a writer of ghost stories—‘spook stories’ in the then vernacular—as well as biographies.  His ghost and supernatural fiction covered a range of subjects but all were exceptionally well-written, drenched in atmosphere, riven with chills and have stood the test of popularity over the decades as testament to his literary talents.

Benson was never married and practised his homosexuality discreetly.

E F Benson died on 29th February 1940 at University College Hospital, London of throat cancer.  He was 72.

In this compilation - 

1 - E F Benson - A Short Story Collection - An Introduction

2 - Caterpillars by E F Benson

3 - Mrs Amworth by E F Benson

4 - The Bus Conductor by E F Benson

5 - The Face by E F Benson

6 - The Room in the Tower by E F Benson

7 - The Terror by Night by E F Benson