The Poetry of W B Yeats (Audiobook)
    - +

    Read by Jordan Gallagher, Kelly O'Doherty & Ghizela Rowe (Unabridged: 1hr 25mins)

    William Butler Yeats was born in Sandymount in County Dublin, Ireland on 13th June 1865.

    His early years moved between Ireland and England. By his mid-teens he was writing but those works were described as ‘entirely Un-Irish’.  With Ernest Rhys he founded the Rhymers Club. Based at Ye Olde Cheshire Cheese in Fleet Street it’s best described as a drinking club for performing poets.  Yeats later cited them as ‘The Tragic Generation’.  By now Yeats was writing and publishing poetry and stories that were profoundly based in Irish folklore. 

    Yeats is perhaps best described as Ireland’s national poet in addition to being one of the major twentieth-century literary figures of the English tongue. He represents the ‘Romantic poet of modernism,’ with an extraordinary style created from the outward emphasis on the expression of emotions and the extensive use of symbolism, imagery and allusions.

    In 1923 his fame was brought to an even wider audience when he received the Nobel Prize in Literature.

    His personal life was driven by his many relationships in love and by his great interest in oriental mysticism and occultism.  Yeats also wrote prose and drama and, as an ardent Nationalist, established himself as a spokesman of the Irish cause and served as an Irish senator for two terms.

    W B Yeats died at the Hôtel Idéal Séjour, in Menton, France, on 28th January 1939.  He was 73.

    In modern times his contribution to literary modernism and to Irish nationalism remains incontestable.  His sumptuous poetry elegantly envelopes the reader in a world very few can articulate but all know well.  A legacy for everyone.

    In this compilation -

    1 - The Poetry of W B Yeats - An Introduction
    2 - A Man Young and Old - I - First Love by W B Yeats
    3 - A Man Young and Old - II - Human Dignity by W B Yeats
    4 - A Man Young and Old - III - The Mermaid by W B Yeats
    5 - A Man Young and Old - IV - The Death of the Hare by W B Yeats
    6 - A Man Young and Old - V - The Empty Cup by W B Yeats
    7 - A Man Young and Old - VI - His Memories
    8 - A Man Young and Old - VII - The Friends of His Youth
    9 - A Man Young and Old - VIII - Summer and Spring
    10 - A Man Young and Old - IX - The Secrets of the Old
    11 - A Man Young and Old - X - His Wildness
    12 - A Man Young and Old - XI - From 'Oedipus at Colonus'
    13 - A Cradle Song by W B Yeats
    14 - A Prayer for My Daughter by W B Yeats
    15 - The Mother of God by W B Yeats
    16 - Among School Children by W B Yeats
    17 - The Stolen Child by W B Yeats
    18 - Long-Legged Fly by W B Yeats
    19 - The Poet Pleads with the Elemental Powers by W B Yeats
    20 - The Lake Isle of Innisfree by W B Yeats
    21 - The Wild Swans at Coole by W B Yeats
    22 - Leda and the Swan by W B Yeats
    23 - The Cat and the Moon by W B Yeats
    24 - Those Dancing Days Are Gone by W B Yeats
    25 - Imitated From The Japanese by W B Yeats
    26 - All Things Can Tempt Me by W B Yeats
    27 - A Statesman's Holiday by W B Yeats
    28 - The Fascination of What's Difficult by W B Yeats
    29 - A Drinking Song by W B Yeats
    30 - He Wishes For the Cloths of Heaven by W B Yeats
    31 - He Bids His Beloved Be at Peace by W B Yeats
    32 - The Song of Wandering Aengus by W B Yeats
    33 - The Travail of Passion by W B Yeats
    34 - The Falling of Leaves by W B Yeats
    35 - He Thinks of Those Who Have Spoken Evil of His Beloved by W B Yeats
    36 - Down by the Salley Gardens by W B Yeats
    37 - Quarrel in Old Age by W B Yeats
    38 - The Secret Rose by W B Yeats
    39 - Under Saturn by W B Yeats
    40 - To Ireland In The Coming Times by W B Yeats
    41 - I Am of Ireland by W B Yeats
    42 - The Second Coming by William Butler Yeats
    43 - Meditations in Time of Civil War - I - Ancestral Homes by W B Yeats
    44 - Meditations in Time of Civil War - II - My House by W B Yeats
    45 - Meditations in Time of Civil War - III - My Table by W B Yeats
    46 - Meditations in Time of Civil War - IV - My Descendants by W B Yeats
    47 - Meditations in Time of Civil War - V - The Road at My Door by W B Yeats
    48 - Meditations in Time of Civil War - VI - The Stare's Nest By My Window by W B Yeats
    49 - Meditations in Time of Civil War - VII - I See Phantoms of Hatred and of the Heart's by W B Yeats
    50 - From A Full Moon in March - Parnells Funeral by W B Yeats
    51 - Easter 1916 by W B Yeats
    52 - Come Gather Round Me, Parnelites by W B Yeats
    53 - September 1913 by W B Yeats
    54 - The Ghost of Roger Casement by W B Yeats
    55 - The Apparitions by W B Yeats
    56 - Sixteen Dead Men by W B Yeats
    57 - An Irish Airman Forsees His Death by W B Yeats
    58 - He Thinks of His Past Greatness When a Part of the Constellations of Heaven by W B Yeats
    59 - He Remembers Forgotten Beauty by W B Yeats
    60 - Men Improve with the Years by W B Yeats
    61 - When You Are Old by W B Yeats
    62 - He Wishes His Beloved Were Dead by W B Yeats
    63 - The Wheel by W B Yeats
    64 - Sailing To Byzantium by W B Yeats
    65 - Death by W B Yeats